Applications are invited for Faculty Positions in Physics ->

Debraj Das, Research Scholar in the Dept. of Physics, has been awarded a 3 – month fellowship (March to June 2020) on the basis of an international competition to visit and work (in the field of Statistical Physics) with the top scientists of Max Planck Institute for Physics of Complex Systems, Dresden, Germany.

Click for more details

“The true laboratory is the mind, where behind illusions we uncover the laws of truth.” – J. C. Bose

“Science and religion will meet and shake hands. Poetry and philosophy will become friends. This will be the religion of the future, and if we can work it out, we may be sure that it will be for all times and peoples.”

“The truth gathered from internal experience is psychology, metaphysics, and religion; from external experience, the physical sciences.”

– Swami Vivekananda

RKMVERI was founded to actualize Swami Vivekananda’s fundamental educational ideas of imparting life-building, man-making and character-building education by combining the best elements of the East and the West.

School of Mathematical Sciences (Physics, Maths, CS) & School of Indian Heritage (Vedanta, Yoga, etc.) housed next to each other facilitate mutual influence & exchange of ideas.

Department of Physics in the School of Mathematical Sciences primarily focuses on Higher Education & Research (MSc & PhD) in Physics

Abhijit Bandyopadhyay

High Energy Physics (Phenomenology), Cosmology
Ph. D. (2005): Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata, India

Read More

Amitava Bhattacharyya

Experimental Condensed Matter Physics and Materials Science
Ph. D. (2012): Indian Association for the Cultivation of science, Kolkata, India

Read More

Bobby Ezhuthachan

Quantum Field Theory, String Theory
Ph. D. (2008): The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai, India

Read More

Debashis Gangopadhyay

Quantum field theory, Cosmology, Quantum Computation & Information
Ph. D. (1988): Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata, India

Read More

Ranjan Chaudhury

Ph. D. (1988) : Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, India

Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics

Read More

Sanjoy Biswas

Theoretical Particle Physics, Collider Physics
Ph. D. (2011): Harish Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad, India

Read More

Shamik Gupta

Statistical Physics, Non-linear Dynamics
Ph. D. (2008): Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, India

Read More


IISER, Mohali

Our Distinguished
Adjunct Faculty

Quantum Theory

Read More


TIFR Centre for Interdisciplinary Sciences,

Our Distinguished
Adjunct Faculty

Statistical Physics

Read More

Pankaj Joshi

TIFR, Mumbai

Our Distinguished
Adjunct Faculty

General Relativity and Cosmology

Read More

N. Mukunda

IISc., Bangalore

Our Distinguished

Classical and Quantum Mechanics, Mathematical Physics
Theoretical Optics

Read More

Arnab Sen

Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science

Our Distinguished
Young Associate

Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics

Read More

C M Chandrashekar

The Institute of Mathematical Sciences

Our Distinguished
Young Associate

Quantum Information and Quantum Simulations

Read More

M.Sc. Classes & other Events

Science Academies’ Refresher Course on “Statistical Physics

9 – 23 Dec 2018

Sponsored by:
Indian Academy of Sciences, Bengaluru, Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi &
The National Academy of Sciences India, Allahabad

Other Workshops

List of Seminars

News & Events