As long as I live so long will I learn - Sri Ramakrishna

PhD Programmes

Admissions PhD programme in Physics for Academic Year 2021-22


The following applicants are selected for admission into Ph.D Programme in Physics for the academic year 2021-22.

Application No. Name
108557 Koustav Ghosh
107595 Sourav Mukherjee

Instructions for taking Admission:

Last Date of taking Admission : 04 September 2021

  1. Pay the admission fees online from Admission portal. Payment can be found in Menu/Page ‘Application Status’.
  2. Upon successful fees payment, the receipt can be downloaded from the portal. This is your fee receipt.
  3. Download the Admission-cum-Registration form-PhD, duly fill it and sign it, take a soft-copy of this and email it to admission office () along with the soft-copies of all the applicable supporting documents/certificates mentioned in the Admission-cum-Registration form.
    • NOTE: Remember to mention your name, Application No. and the ‘programme applied for in the email.
    • Download the Physical Fitness Certificate form (to be submitted along with admission-form OR later when joining the programme in face-to-face mode)
  4. Submission of all applicable documents/certificates along with admission fee payment should be completed before the last date of admission.

Department of Physics, Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute (Deemed-to-be-University under section 3 of UGC Act 1956) is inviting applications for admission to PhD programme in Physics.

Areas of Research:

  • High Energy Physics (Phenomenology) and Cosmology
  • Experimental Condensed Matter Physics and Nano-structure Material Sciences

Eligibility Criteria:

  1. The applicant should have a good academic record throughout, with at least 60% marks in both B.Sc. (Physics Major/Hons.) and M.Sc. (Physics) examinations from any recognized University or Institute of the country. SC/ST candidates will enjoy a 5% concession in the minimum eligibility of marks.
  2. Age limit: Below 28 years on the date of application.
  3. Preferably the applicant must have either qualified in CSIR-UGC NET(JRF) /GATE /JEST /equivalent national level examination with Research Fellowship allowing entry into PhD or must have the DST-INSPIRE fellowship.

Number of vacancies:

5 in all, with the following breakup (areawise)

  • High Energy Physics (Phenomenology): 2
  • Experimental Condensed Matter Physics and Nano-structure Material Sciences: 3

Selection Procedure:

  1. Applicants with PhD fellowships under CSIR-UGC NET (JRF)/DST-INSPIRE or other Governmental Schemes will be selected on the basis of a rigorous viva-voce examination to be conducted by the Department online.
  2. Those with no fellowships will have to appear for a written test (Research Eligibility Test) to be conducted by the Department. Candidates qualifying in the written test will be further screened through a rigorous viva-voce examination. While the University will not be able to provide any fellowship for candidates selected for PhD, it will make efforts to help them obtain fellowships from sources such as ‘Swami Vivekananda Merit-cum-Means Fellowship’ awarded by the Government of West Bengal. However, there will be no commitment from the University in this respect.

Note: Only full-time scholars will be admitted for the PhD programme. No application for part-time PhD will therefore be entertained.

Entrance Exam : 17 August, 2021 (Tentative)

Fee Structure:

Fees structure is given on the page: PhD Fee Structure

Contact us

All queries may be sent to our email-id: